RB box

Rail Baron®
World Boardgaming Championships
at Seven Springs, PA - July 2016

How to attend the WBC and play in the Rail Baron tournament

2016 Tournament Results

updated 12 August 2016

The finalists at the 2016 World Boardgaming Championships Rail Baron tourney:

2016 finalists

Congrats to first-time tournament champion Tony Newton!
From left to right: Tony Newton, Mark McCandless, Mark Kennel, John Henry, and Mark McBride
Picture above and account below courtesy GM Mark McCandless.

Tony Newton won the Paul Van Bloem award for the most net value in three top games of heats and SF. The 2016 Finals had three Marks, so to avoid the same confusion as in the game last names will be used.

Newton started the purchasing with the NYH&H, followed by McCandless with the PA, Kennel with the NYC, McBride with the B&O, Henry with the C&O. Kennel had the first bad luck, picking Portland, ME, as a destination. Newton immediately purchased the B&M and so Kennel hit the first hostile. Henry rolled Norfolk so Kennel bought theN&W and got his money back. Henry pursued a Western strategy, buying the WP and DRG&W, McBride a Southeastern one with the SAL Newton purchased a Superchief on the theory if you don't havea Northeastern line throw a Hail Mary and go fast.

McCandless started the three big ones with the AT&SF, Newton followed with the SP, Henry with the UP. The best McBride could counter with was the CMSTP&P; then he promptly started a run of six hostiles in a row! Newton was also in a run of four straight hostiles and Henry, despite being strong in the west, managed to hit a hostile every time he went there. So by the time all the purchasing was done, McCandless was in the strongest position, with 140K in properties and finally a Superchief, and all the others had less than104K in properties.

McBride was thefirst to falter, failing to arrive in his destination by one pip and forced to sell. He threw the B&O up for sale. McCandless let it go to Newton at 25K--probably too little, but since he next rolled Portland, ME, maybe for the best. Newton was down to 10K, but his luck turned in a big way -- three people went to Portland, ME, and Boston at the same time, netting him 60K! Suddenly a new leader! Henry kept rolling one pip short of his need, finally putting the IC up for auction, which McCandless bought at 23K, and Newton regretted not bidding higher.

Newton and McCandless announced in the same turn. Kennel had seven of his last eleven destinations hostile, but he was raking in some big long runs and payments from others and finally disclosed. McBride sold to the bank two of his last properties and was down to 9K cash and the SAL at the end of the game. His eleven hostiles brought him the Most Hostiles Award.

It came down to a race between McCandless with the money but a long hostile run prospect fromPortland, OR, to his home in Las Vegas, and Newton who was three pips away from his home in Birmingham but just short on money. Newton rolled Tumumcari and went there, no bounce. McCandless declared, rolling a six of the fifteen he needed. Newton considered chasing him down but gambled on running himself, though he needed fourteen on three dice -- he rolled it. If he had failed, McCandless would have made it as the next player to roll (of course he rolled it to be sure, if superfluous).

Rail lines held by winners, in 23 games: PA7, NYC 7, B&O 8, C&O 5, ATSF 10, UP 8, SP 6, CMSTP&P 9, SAL 8, ACL8, L&N 9, MP 7, RF&P 4, DRG&W 6, N&W 6, C&NW 6, T&P 8,GN 6, NYH&H 10, B&M 8, GM&O 5, SOU 6, SLSF 7, CB&Q 5, NP 4, WP6, IC 2, CRI&P 3

Tournament News

Mark McCandless serves as GM.

This is the officially-sanctioned Rail Baron® tournament of 2016.

Prior Champions

2016 Tony Newton
2015 Norm Newton, 2015 tournament info
2014 Brian Conlon, 2014 tournament info
2013 Trella Bromley, 2013 tournament info
2012 Donna Balkan, 2012 tournament info
2011 Sue Lanham, 2011 tournament info
2010 John Henry, 2010 tournament info
2009 Mark McCandless, 2009 tournament info
2008 Eve Secunda, 2008 tournament info
2007 Tom Dunning, 2007 tournament info
2006 Inger Henning, 2006 tournament story
2005 Bill Duke, 2005 tournament story
2004 Doug Galullo, 2004 tournament story
2003 Mike Zorrer, 2003 tournament story
2002 Ed Wrobel, 2002 tournament story
2001 Steve Okonski, 2001 tournament story
2000 Steve Okonski 2000 tournament story
1999 Heikki Thoen 1999 tournament story
1998 Eyal Mozes 1998 tournament story
1997 Kimberly Lemmons 1997 tournament story
1996 Heikki Thoen
1995 Heikki Thoen
1994 Bill Fellin
1993 Kevin Quirk
1992 Kevin Quirk
1991 Chuck Foster


WBC and BPA Web site - See the event schedule
Rail Baron Fanatics - Get Rail Baron software and practice

Rail Baron is an internationally registered trademark of Intersystem Concepts, Inc., used in WBC tournament with permission.